Count your many blessings!

April 20, 2008 at 03:17 pm Leave a comment

A few days ago I was so very thankful to the Lord for how he has blessed our family. I was rejoicing in the little ways He has shown us that He cared. It was definintely a “mountain top” week.

Then came a “valley”…Among other things, I was discouraged because of several unexpected bills that came in the mail, one from the birth of Baby Girl, another from DH’s last surgery, and then came the whopping huge bill for Bubba #2’s broken arm. While I am in the midst of bummin’ about that I go to finish the laundry when I hear something unusual in the closet where our hot water heater is…”Honey! It sounds like something’s leaking back here!” We discovered our hot water heater was indeed leaking all under the house. Thankfully it was installed in such a way that it didn’t leak all over the laundry room. We lived like pioneers w/out running water for that night and all of the next day while Dearest installed our new water heater.

I was just soooo discouraged…

Funny thing was just a day before this I was contemplating a blog entitled “Count your many blessings” in which I would list all the things the Lord has blessed us with. I was just so happy with the Lord and we were close…then came my low…I certainly didn’t feel like counting my blessings…Instead I wanted to count my misfortune.

After being in a funk all day I kinda scoffed at myself for wanting to count my blessings, as if I had anything to be thankful about..poor me…(Come on, admit it, we’ve all been there). The Devil almost had me when I got a wave of thankfulness for my family, they’re all healthy and alive…then another wave of thankfulness for His provision…and another…and another…

I contemplated further…Wait a minute…the song Count Your Many Blessings says

When upon life’s billows you are tempest tossed

When you are discouraged thinking all is lost

Are you ever burdened with a load of care?

Does the cross seem heavy you are called to bear?

When you look at others with their lands and gold

So amid the conflict, whether great or small

Do not be discouraged – God is over all

Entry filed under: 1, Church, faith, Whatever.

Easy as pie…errrrr bread Menu Plan Monday

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hebrews 13:8

Jesus Christ the same yesterday, and to day, and for ever.

Recent Posts

nogreaterjoy.org

