Is YOUR bedroom a retreat?

April 16, 2008 at 04:30 pm 3 comments

Today, I read an encouraging post entitled Retreating to our bedrooms….. You should check it out and maybe do a little evaluating 🙂

I know a lot of ladies that struggle with keeping their bedrooms uncluttered and kid free. For some, their bedroom is the last to clean, therefore often going undone because of the demands of the day. Then, when it is bedtime the clutter gets piled higher in hope of doing it tomorrow and on the story goes.

Often, the children are not trained to knock and are allowed free range in the bedroom. I myself have little ones that still are being trained in this area and one infant that is still nursing and although she nurses in bed with me in the mornings, she has her crib for bedtime and naps.

Here are some of the ways I keep our room clean, uncluttered and kid free:

1) Laundry never leaves my laundry room until it is time to put away. I wash, dry, sort and fold the laundry in the laundry room as it is coming out of the dryer. I fold the large towels, hang everyone’s clothing on hangers, and sort the other clothing, washclothes etc for the children to fold in the laundry room. Then it is put away. Now this sometimes makes for a cluttered laundry room but considering the alternative…

2) I usually make our bed first before any other house duties, often before I leave the room.

3) I never allow junk to accumulate. I tidy the room right after I make the bed.

4) There’s no T.V. (and now no computer) in our bedroom.

5) I have a friend that teaches her children to not approach their bedroom door if it’s shut unless it’s a true emergency. There is almost nothing that can’t wait until Mom or Dad come out. We’ve not made it to that yet, but we have trained them to knock and not enter until given permission.

These are very simple things and maybe you’ve got these things down already. But if not I encourage you to make your room a sanctuary!

If you’ve got any other tips please feel free to share!

 

 

Entry filed under: family, HomeKeeping, Whatever.

Works for Me Wednesday!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Org Junkie  |  April 16, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    Wonderful tips, thank you for sharing your lovely bedroom.

    Laura

    Reply
  • 2. Tami  |  April 24, 2008 at 06:03 pm

    I love the order and beauty in your bedroom! I also appreciate the tips you’ve offered!

    (Right now my bedroom contains homeless storage and clutter and the kiddos’ ps2.)

    I like the idea of getting the t.v. out of the room.

    Reply
  • 3. amandasattitude  |  April 27, 2008 at 08:44 pm

    Tami, Thank you for the comment. We also used to have the PS in our bedroom, years ago. Then we moved it into the children’s room, then we put it in the living room, then the closet, then finally we sold it! LoL And boy is it nice! Let me know if you’re successful in removing the T.V. from your sanctuary 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hebrews 13:8

Jesus Christ the same yesterday, and to day, and for ever.

Recent Posts

nogreaterjoy.org

