Yummy! Homemade ice cream

March 25, 2008 at 03:36 pm 4 comments

ice-cream.jpg

 

We have an abundance of raw cream that I am trying to find uses for. I went searching for ice cream recipes that don’t need an ice cream maker. Who wants to lug one of those out!? Here’s what I made last night and it was a big hit (even to my picky dear husband). Tasted just like store bought!

3 egg whites (I let a little yolk slip through)
1 1/2 c. sugar (I used raw, unrefined sugar)
2 c. mashed strawberries (much easier to just pulse a few times in the  
      food processor)
1 1/2 c. whipped cream
Whip cold cream until you’ve got thick whipped cream.
Beat the egg whites and sugar for 10 minutes, add strawberries, and whip another minute.
Fold in the whipped cream. Freeze in a 8 1/2 x 11 glass dish for at least 5 hours.
I have only one mixer so I had to wash the bowl and whip attatchment between steps.
Enjoy!
Entry filed under: HomeKeeping, Homeschool, Recipes, Whatever.

Hello world! I love Spring!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tina  |  March 28, 2008 at 01:20 pm

    Where do u get the raw, unrefined sugar, & cream? Maybe a dumb question but just wondering if there’s something I’ve missed?

    Reply
  • 2. amandasattitude  |  March 28, 2008 at 02:21 pm

    Hi Tina!
    You can get unrefined sugar at your local grocery store. I buy it in bulk at a local “Mennonite” store. I prefer to use local honey or molasses as a sweetener but I use unrefined sugar sometimes in recipes.
    Here’s a tidbit about unrefined sugar
    “Unrefined sugar is made from sugar cane juice that is released by pressing sugar cane stalks. It is different from refined sugar in that it is typically 50% less processed and therefore contains slightly more molasses than refined sugar. Unrefined sugar has a sucrose level in the range of 99.2% – 99.5% as compared to refined sugar which has a higher sucrose level of 99.9%.”

    Doesn’t make it “good for you” necessarily but I feel better than if I used white sugar. 🙂

    As for the raw cream/milk we buy it from a family that has a milk cow. 🙂

    Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Amanda

    Reply
  • 3. Bethany  |  March 30, 2008 at 05:07 pm

    Sounds yummy! I just made some frozen yogurt, it is pretty good for my first time trying. 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. New Ice Cream Recipe! « Amanda’s Attitude  |  May 17, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    […] under HomeKeeping, Recipes   Awhile back I posted my super easy, no ice-cream maker needed, strawberry ice cream recipe. I have since experimented with different recipes and have come up with a chocolate/peanut butter […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hebrews 13:8

Jesus Christ the same yesterday, and to day, and for ever.

Recent Posts

nogreaterjoy.org

